A post dedicated to SALAD

I know, I know.  You’ve missed me.  Where have the cooking devushki been??  Or – maybe you didn’t notice!  Either way, sorry for such a long empty space out here in the land of the world wide web, but  I am back today, and I’m happy to be dedicating this full post to SALAD!

If you’ll take a gander at the Recipe Index, you’ll probably notice that there isn’t a category for salad.  It’s not that I don’t eat salad.  I eat it because I know its good for me.  The main thing is, I don’t really LIKE salad all that much (I know, Jessica is just cringing right now.)

If someone makes me a salad, I’ll be happy to eat it.  But I don’t want to make it.  I don’t really enjoy spinning the lettuce, cutting up the veggies and other toppings, making dressing (bottled dressing in Russia = ew.)  I’ll do it if I am asked to.  And some might tell you that I can make a salad just fine.  I did once make a salad for a party at a friend’s house that had green lettuce, red onion, mandarin oranges, and a garlicy dressing.  And it was awesome.  But, you know what, I didn’t have a blast doing it. And since cooking is my favorite hobby, it’s supposed to be a blast, right? :-)  But  you know, sometimes it’s just functional and you do what you gotta do!  :-)  But again, check out the recipe index.  The majority of what I post there are baked goods…and main dishes.  Because that’s what I love to make! :-)  So, in order to cover all my bases, I’ve decided to do ONE post that will go down in cookingdevushki history, as the ONLY post that Kim ever did on salad.  But if you ever need a salad idea…you’ll know where to come.  Now I can’t speak for Laura…because she loves salad, and she just might surprise you back here on CD one day!

Ok here goes!

Two great blogs about salad!

Salad Craze!

And some great salad recipes I think you ought to try, and maybe even I’ll try one day (well…maybe!) :-)


BLT Salad with Buttermilk Dressing – Steamy Kitchen


Caprese Salad with Basil Vinaigrette – Steamy Kitchen


Chicken, Apple, Arugla, & Goat Cheese Salad – Simply Recipes


Chicken & Strawberry Salad – MyRecipes.com


Corn Bread Salad – Smitten Kitchen


Ginger Steak Salad – The Pioneer Woman

Lime & Peanut Coleslaw - 101 Cookbooks


A Little Bit of Everything Salad – Stephanie’s Kitchen


Orange, Red Onion, Gorgonzola, & Arugula Salad – Skinny Taste


Pomegranate Salad with Soy Vinegar Dressing – The Zoe Blog


Salad Olivie – Smitten Kitchen


Southwestern Black Bean Salad – Skinny Taste


Spinach Salad with Fruit, Almonds & Feta – Two Peas & their Pod


Strawberry & Spinach Salad – Savory Sweet Life


Summer Tzatziki Salad – The Zoe Blog

…and try Smitten Kitchen’s Tzatziki sauce.  Yum!


Sweet Corn Salad – Two Peas & their Pod


Waldorf Salad – Simply Recipes


Happy Salading! :-)

Leave a Reply

