Creamy Chicken & Rice Soup

crmchickricesoup

It will come to no surprise to those who have been to my house for dinner that I loooove to cook soup.  My roommate can attest to the fact that I probably make soup at least once a week.  For one thing, when you live in a crazy city like Moscow, it’s nice to have something that is home cooked that you can just pop in the microwave later on in the week.  Thinking back, I’ve made all of these soups just since I’ve been in Russia since September:

  • Today’s treat: Creamy Chicken & Rice
  • Classic Chicken Noodle
  • Peanut Butter Vegetable Chicken Soup
  • Tortilla Soup
  • Hearty Ranch and Bacon Potato Soup
  • Chili Blanco
  • Fake it Don’t Make It Chicken & Dumplings
  • Cheddar Chicken Chowder
  • Tomato Basil Soup
  • Split Pea soup with Bacon, Potato, and Barley
  • Hearty Lentil and Sausage Stew

…and probably a few more I’m not remembering!  Why aren’t all of these on our website already?  Well….Because I’m a slacker and because I made a lot of them before Laura and I created this blog. So there!  You will just have to wait….

ANYWAY

I modified this recipe for Creamy Chicken & Rice soup because I have no idea where to buy corn starch or evaporated milk in Moscow – which are 2 things that the original recipe called for.  Thanks to For the Love of Cooking for this recipe!  Enjoy!

Ingredients:

1 tsp of olive oil
1/2 yellow onion
2-3 carrots, diced
2-3 stalks of celery, diced
2 cloves of garlic, minced

5 cups chicken stock

1 tsp. poultry seasoning or other yummy seasoning (I used Red Robin seasoning)  Original recipe called for chicken bouillon, but I didn’t have that!
1/2 tsp dried basil
Sea salt and freshly cracked pepper to taste
1 bay leaf
1 cup cooked chicken breast, diced (more if you like)
1/2 cup long grain rice
1/2 cup of frozen sweet yellow corn, thawed
4 Tbsp flour
1 1/2 C. half&half

Heat olive oil in a large Dutch oven over medium heat. Add the onion, carrots and celery once hot. Cook until tender, stirring occasionally, about 5 minutes. Add the minced garlic and stir constantly for 60 seconds. Add the chicken stock, diced chicken, rice, seasoning, basil, sea salt, black pepper and bay leaf. Cover and cook over medium heat for 15-20 minutes. Turn the soup up until it boils. Mix the flour and half&half thoroughly in a bowl. Add the milk mixture to the boiling soup and stir. Lower the heat and add the corn. Mix thoroughly and simmer for a few more minutes. The soup will thicken as it sits. Enjoy.

Note #1 – using half and half will probably make your soup thicker than if you use 1 1/2 C. evaporated milk.  Do what you prefer!

grillman

Note #2 – Now is the perfect time to tell you about the amazing phenomenon in Moscow that is the Kyri Grill.  There are stands all over the city where people sell specially seasoned and prepared rotisserie chickens (called Kyri Grill in Russian).  They are very tasty.  They will even wrap it up in a big piece of flat bread (called Lavash in Russian) if you want them to, so that you can enjoy your chicken with a some bread.  I just tried the one from the stand near my new apartment and it was YUM-O as Rachael Ray would say.  So I ate the chicken legs last night for dinner and then cut the rest of it up to use in my soup today.  Perfect and I didn’t have to take time cooking chicken breast for my soup recipe!  I also think the rotisserie chicken added some additional flavor to the soup that I quite enjoyed!  Now don’t even get me started on Shayrma…

One thought on “Creamy Chicken & Rice Soup

Leave a Reply

