Cake Decorating 101

You may have noticed that Laura and I have taken a bit of a hiatus from cookingdevushki.  We’re both in the States for the summer so sadly, the cookingdevushki have been separated!  We’ve made it a goal to post something at least once a week starting in the Fall, but until then, I thought I’d share a bit of what I’ve been up to lately.  I came to the States for some medical treatment, but in the meantime, I decided to have a little fun and take a cake decorating class!   It was a lot of fun and I’m glad that I did it!

I was able to learn all about different icing bag tips and what they are used for.  I learned how to make flowers, stars, leaves, write on the cake, and other things too.  Unfortunately, this was a 4-week class, so there’s no way I could teach you how to decorate a cake on one post on this blog.  But here are my fun creations!

cakemosaic

Enjoy this awesome recipe for a White Buttercream Frosting.  This recipe is NOT cookingdevushki approved however – because it has shortening in it – something that cannot be bought in Russia!  🙂 But it sure is tasty!

White Buttercream Frosting

1 1/2 C. shortening

1 TBS. clear vanilla

pinch salt

2 lbs. powdered sugar

1/4-1/2 C. water

Beat ingredients together until smooth.  Do not overbeat or you will get air bubbles.

I’m enjoying being able to bake with stuff in the U.S. that I can’t bake with in Russia.  I never thought I would make so many BOXED cakes.  But I did for my class!  I’m looking forward to making some fun cake creations for my team this coming year.  Yay for team birthdays!

Lastly, just a few tips for  cakes and decorating that I learned along the way:

  • Decorating turntables are awesome!  You can just spin your cake around and around and not have to exhaust yourself walking around in circles!
  • Wilton icing colors make really bright, pretty colors.  Way different than those little boxes of coloring from walmart.
  • The key to decorating cakes well is icing consistency.  You need thick (stiff) icing to make flowers with upright petals.  Medium consistency icing is for stars, borders, and flowers with petals that lie flat.  Thin consistency icing is for writing, making vines and leaves, and for icing the cake.
  • Bake cakes at 325 degrees always.  A lot of recipes say 350 or 375, but if you bake them at 325 for just a little longer, they will bake more evenly and come out cleaner from the pan every time.
  • Lots of times round cakes will get a little mound at the top when it bakes.  You can just carve that off with a bread knife in order to have an evener cake when you put the 2 round layers together. Also the bottoms of the cake should be the outside of the cake that you’ll be icing because it will be smoother.

Here’s a challenge!  Decorate a cake and send us the pic.  I want ideas!  Peace out…

Leave a Reply

