Smashed Chickpea Salad Sandwich

IMG_2546

I got this recipe from smitten kitchen.  Almost everything she posts on her blog looks absolutely delicious to me!  The problem is that she uses a lot of ingredients that aren’t available in Moscow, so I was really happy when I discovered I could make this in Moscow! I added a little bit of cumin, and served it on grilled ciabatta bread with roasted rep peppers and parmesan cheese. The grilled ciabatta MADE the sandwich.  I really liked the crunchiness that it added.  I hope you try this soon!

1 15-ounce can chickpeas, drained and rinsed
2 tablespoons pitted, halved and very thinly sliced black olives
1 tablespoon finely chopped red onion
1 tablespoon chopped fresh parsley
Zest and juice from half a lemon
Salt and pepper to taste
1/2 TBSP cumin
1 TBSP Olive oil (you can add more if you want)
Roasted red pepper strips
Shaved parmesan cheese
Ciabatta bread-I used my grill pan to make it really crispy
Olive oil

Combine the first 8 ingredients in a bowl. Using a potato masher or a fork, mash everything together. It should be a little chunky-don’t go too crazy with the mashing. Heat up your grill pan or a non-stick skillet to med-high and brush the inside of the ciabatta bread with olive oil. Place olive oil side down on the skillet and let it crisp up. This will take around 5 minutes. When the bread is done, simply assemble the sandwiches! Easy, fast, and so good!

Leave a Reply

