Pioneer Woman Quiche

My fellow cooking-devushka, Laura, said to me today, have you given up on our blog?  It made me so sad because I have NOT given up on the blog, and I  do not want to EVER give up on the blog.  I envision Laura and I making our cooking devushki posts from our nursing home beds in 70 years…though I’m not sure how we’ll be able to try out new recipes from our nursing home beds!  Anyway, so, I (Kim) have to apologize for not posting in SO LONG.  Things have been a little nutty with me,  but I have renewed my efforts and here I am!

Laura and I make no apologies about our dear love for the Pioneer Woman.  If you don’t know who the pioneer woman is, and you’re reading OUR cooking blog instead of hers…there is something seriously wrong with this situation!  I personally am hoping to get the new Pioneer Woman Cooks cookbook for Christmas because 1. Ree’s recipes are just so amazingly awesome, and 2. Ree herself is so amazingly funny!  Now go check out her blog!

But enough about Ree…let’s get to the Quiche.  I made Pioneer Woman Quiche this summer for a breakfast that I had at my house for some of my ministry partners, and I can say that there was not a DROP left when everyone left.  I think someone licked the quiche pan clean.  Seriously!  This quiche is yummy and buttery and full of all things good and breakfasty!  You can also mix it up and use different veggies or meats or cheese.  I omitted the mushrooms because I’m not a fan, put in extra artichoke hearts, used store-bought refrigerated pie dough, and used colby jack instead of swiss.  As you can see, it’s pretty customizable.  Have fun with it!  Try sausage or ham, throw in some broccoli.  Be creative!

But above all else, eat a big piece when it’s done cooking.  🙂  Enjoy this recipe from our beloved Pioneer Woman!

Ingredients:

Pie Crust

7 eggs

1 1/2 C. heavy cream

2 C. grated cheese

salt and pepper to taste

3/4 lb. bacon

1 stick butter

1 large or 2 medium yellow onions, very thinly sliced

2 boxes white mushrooms, washed and sliced

1 can quartered artichoke hearts

fresh parsley, chives (optional)

Preheat Oven to 400 degrees.  Fry bacon in a skillet until crisp.  Let cool, crumble, then set aside.  Pour out excess grease from skillet, but don’t clean the pan.  Melt 1/2 C. butter in the same skillet.  Add onions and cook for a few minutes.  Add mushrooms and artichokes (or whatever vegetables you are using) and cook for a few more minutes.  Add salt to taste.  Remove from heat and allow to cool about 20 minutes.

Roll out pie crust and press into a deep dish tart pan.  In a large bowl, beat eggs with cream.  Add grated cheese, salt, and pepper, and set aside.  Add cayenne pepper if you want to kick it up a notch!  With a slotted spoon, add vegetable mixture into egg/cream mixture.  Stir together, then add bacon.  Stir.  Add parsley/chives if desired.

Pour into pie crust and press to submerge ingredients.  Cover loosely with foil.  Place on baking sheet and bake for 1 hour.  Remove the foil the last 10 minutes.  If the quiche is overly jiggly, bake slightly longer.

Remove from oven and allow to set for 10 minutes before serving. Slice into wedges and serve.

2 thoughts on “Pioneer Woman Quiche

  1. Pingback: Kim’s Best of 2009 « Cooking Devushki

  2. Pingback: Top Recipes of 2010 « Cooking Devushki

Leave a Reply

