Cake Creations!

Some of you may remember that this summer, I (Kim) took a cake decorating class.  Well, while cake decorating has proven to be slightly more complicated in Russia…I’m still having fun trying out my new skill, and wanted to show you the two birthday cakes I’ve made this Fall.  The first was for an amazing western-themed birthday party that Laura planned for our sweet friend Lindsey.  Fun was had by all, and I enjoyed testing out my creativity for my very FIRST, three-tiered cake:

Lin's Cake

On the bottom layer, I piped a bandana pattern and did a shell border around the top.  The middle layer was chocolate butter cream icing.  I used my star tip for the stars, and piped “Happy 25th Lin!”  You can probably tell the top layer kind of melted, but it was fun teaching myself how to do the basket-weave technique.  They don’t teach you that in the beginners cake decorating class.  It’s in one of Wilton’s later classes.  But I looked it up online and got the hang of it.  The top was done with my small star tip.  It’s  a Texas flag, and looked great from the top.  I got the little cowgirl cake topper on Ebay.  It looks just like Lindsey, and I see the cowgirl sitting on top of her TV every time I come over.  Guess she was a keeper!

the girls!

If you are looking for a good chocolate cake recipe, this one was moist, dense, and oh, so rich.  I baked Smitten Kitten’s version exactly as it is on her site (except I think I doubled the recipe so I’d have enough cake for 3 tiers!)….check out this amazing recipe here!  SO GOOD!

cake mosaic(Above: preparing the flour mixture, enjoying my cup of coffee while I baked – since the recipe called for hot brewed coffee!, and the super-yummy batter…I could have just eaten that!)

The second cake I made was a super-yummy chocolate-chip cookie cake for Dan’s birthday party at our Russian family’s house.  Dan and his wife Rachel lived with the same family for 6-weeks this Fall, that I lived with for 6-weeks when I first moved to Russia, last Fall.  I like that we have that bond now.  It’ s like we’re one big happy family!  To add to the fun, our two newest teammates, Jess and Dave, are now ALSO living with them.  What a fun and giving family!

This cake wasn’t nearly as involved as the first one, but I’m pretty sure no one was really even looking at it – just enjoying the yummy taste!  Enjoy this recipe!

Chocolate Chip Cookie Cake adapted from the Cutting Edge of Ordinary.

CCCCake

1 1/2 C. flour

1/2 tsp. baking soda

1 stick butter, room temp.

1/2 C. plus 2 TBS. sugar

1/2 C. plus 2 TBS brown sugar

1/4 tsp. salt

1 tsp. vanilla

1 large egg

1 C. chocolate chips

Filling: 1 C. chocolate chips plus 1 tsp. Crisco

 

Preheat oven to 350 degrees.  Spray two 8 or 9 – inch round cake pans. Set aside.

Cream together butter and sugar until it turns pale yellow, about 2 minutes.  Add in the sugars, salt, and vanilla.  Cream until smooth.  Add the egg and beat on low until incorporated.  Stir in the chocolate chips.

Divide the dough between the 2 cake pans.  Pat batter into the pans, leaving about 1/2 an inch between the dough and the edge of the pan.  Bake for 15 minutes.

Allow to cool completely before frosting.

For the filling: Pour the chips and Crisco into a microwaveable bowl.  Microwave in 30-second intervals, just until the chips start to melt.  Spread 1/2 the chocolate mixture onto cooled cake bottom and top with second cake.  Use a spatula to put the rest of the chocolate mixture into a zip top bag.  Snip off a bit of the end of the bag, and drizzle chocolate over the top of the cake.  Decorate as desired.

Leave a Reply

