Sweet Cornbread

When I came to Moscow, I had no idea how to make cornbread!  I always used the Jiffy mix, which I still think is really good.  This recipe is really good-light and sweet.  We eat it with chili and I used it to make my cornbread stuffing for Thanksgiving. I got this recipe from allrecipes.com, but I can’t remember what the title is. If anyone knows, please let me know!

Ingredients:
2 cups all-purpose flour
2 cups cornmeal
1/2 cup sugar
1 teaspoon baking powder
1 teaspoon baking soda
1 teaspoon salt
2 eggs, lightly beaten
2 cups sour cream
2/3 cup milk
1/2 cup butter, melted

1. In a large bowl, combine the flour, cornmeal, sugar, baking powder, baking soda and salt. Combine the egg, sour cream, milk and butter; stir into dry ingredients just until moistened.

2. Pour into a greased 9×13 baking dish. Bake at 400 degrees F for 25-30 minutes or until a toothpick inserted near the center comes out clean.

One thought on “Sweet Cornbread

  1. Pingback: Kim’s Best of 2009 « Cooking Devushki

Leave a Reply

