Homemade Eggnog

I live a nomadic life in a way.  I don’t always know where I’m going to be at Christmas.  But the one thing that has remained a constant for me since 2003, is that no matter where I am – I make this homemade eggnog.

I used to think I hated eggnog!  I would try the stuff from the carton at the store, and think, yuck, that is so gross!  Well, in 2003, my friend Lori

made this wonderful eggnog recipe for a Christmas celebration I attended at her house.  And the rest is history.  I HAVE to have this every year at Christmas.

I hope you enjoy it as much as I do!  By the way,  Merry Christmas everyone!

Lori’s Eggnog


Ingredients:

12 eggs, separated

1 C. + 1/2 C. sugar, divided

4 C. milk

4 C. cream

nutmeg

Beat 1 C. sugar with the egg yolks until thick and creamy.  Beat in 4 C. milk and 4 C. cream, and chill in a big bowl.  Beat the egg whites until stiff, then beat in 1/2 C. sugar.  Pour egg whites over the top of the other mixture.  Serve with nutmeg sprinkled on top.

One thought on “Homemade Eggnog

  1. Pingback: Leaving home and coming home « Ponderings of the heart

Leave a Reply

