Lately…

I have been doing a lot of traveling lately so I haven’t been able to cook a lot.  I have been doing some baking though, so I thought I would share with you what I have made!  I have always stayed away from anything requiring yeasts, so on my Christmas vacation I decided to tackle it.  Yeast is not as hard to work with as I thought.  It’s the waiting that kills me.  I guess this is one way God is teaching me patience!

I didn’t take any of my own pictures, but here’s what I’ve made in the past month or so with yeast:

Cinnamon Swirl Raisin Bread that I found on this blog, originally from The Bread Baker’s Apprentice.  I made it without the raisins because we didn’t have any.  It was really good and I want to make it again soon!  Maybe using honey and getting some oats in there some how!

Quickie Rosemary Focaccia found here adapted from King Arthur Flour. Delicious!

Soft Pretzels: two recipes.  This one from Cooking Light and this one from Sugarlaws.  Sugarlaws wins by far!

Up next:

As I type this I’m waiting for these hamburger buns to rise!

English Muffins

Soft Wrap Bread

Might as well try another soft pretzel recipe.

**Just a note-I haven’t been able to find whole wheat flour here, so if any of the recipes called for it I just used regular flour.  Also, I don’t have a stand mixer, so I did all the mixing with a hand mixer and all the kneading by hand.  Great to do when you have a lot of time and a lot to think about!

Leave a Reply

