My go-to Brownie Recipe

I spent the last two years trying out a LOT of different brownie recipes.  I just wanted to find that perfect recipe, you know?  I wanted a fudgy on the inside, a little crispy on the outside brownie.  I FINALLY found the recipe I was hoping for in my Fast, Easy, Fresh Cookbook from BonAppetit.  Ever since I found this recipe, I decided I’d never make a different recipe again!  The instant coffee doesn’t make the brownies taste like coffee….just gives them a richer taste.  Hope you like these as much as I do!

Mocha Brownies from BonAppetit

Ingredients:

Nonstick spray

8 oz. bitter or dark chocolate, chopped

3/4 C. unsalted butter

2 C. sugar

6 large eggs

2 tsp. vanilla

1/2 C. flour

1/3 C. cocoa powder

1 tsp. instant espresso powder or instant coffee granules

1/2 tsp. salt

1/4 C. sour cream

powdered sugar

Preheat oven to 375F.  Spray 13×9 baking pan with nonstick spray.  Stir chocolate and butter in heavy small saucepan over low heat until melted.  Cool to lukewarm.

Using electric mixer, beat sugar, eggs, and vanilla in medium bowl until fluffy, about 5 min.  Add chocolate mixture, beat just until blended.  Add flour, cocoa powder, espresso power/coffee granules, and salt.  Beat just until blended.  Stir in sour cream.

Transfer batter to pan.  Bake until tester inserted in center comes out with moist crumbs attached, about 35 min.  Transfer pan to rack.  Cool completely.  Cut brownies into squares and sprinkle with powdered sugar.

3 thoughts on “My go-to Brownie Recipe

  1. Pingback: Recent Cooking News & Sour Cream Chicken Enchiladas « Cooking Devushki

  2. Pingback: Top Recipes of 2010 « Cooking Devushki

  3. Pingback: Supernatural, “Tastes Like Boxed” Brownies | Cooking Devushki

Leave a Reply

