Recent Cooking News & Sour Cream Chicken Enchiladas

Hey there!  Well, I have been a cooking maniac lately, both “oldies but goodies” and some new food fare.  Sometimes it’s hard for me to get away from those great classic recipes that are good, time after time.  Pioneer Woman Salsa makes an appearance at a team function once a month or so…or I just crave it so I make it to have at home!  The Mocha Brownies which I chose as my all-time favorite brownie recipe recently, appeared at a ministry event just the other night!  Snickerdoodles came out to play at my friend’s Lindsey and Luke’s birthday party in the park…and when the weather turned colder last week…I just had to make some Beef and Barley Soup.  You know how much I love soup!  I have it on good authority that Laura’s Red Pepper, Back Bean, and Chicken Enchiladas were prepared by our dear friend Jess just this week.  All that to say, there are a lot of great recipes already on this site, with many more to come in the future!

I recently got a new cookbook called “Ad Hoc at Home” and I just love reading it and looking at the pictures.  I’ll be posting some homey, family-style recipes from there in the near future!  I recently found out that I’m going to be spending mid December through the end of March in the States for my first furlough.  I’m already plotting how I am going to be able to bring back all the best new cookbooks to Russia with me! 🙂

In other food-blog news…I have recently been struck by the fact that my little point and shoot camera just does not take very good quality pictures.  Go figure!  I’m currently researching my options, but I’m pretty sure a new DSLR is going to be coming to my door step around the new year once I save up a bit!  Laura already has a DSLR…but…we don’t live in the same country anymore.  😦  I am very excited to up the quality of my pictures for all of our cookingdevushki readers!  I am trying to decide between a Nikon D90, which a few people that I know are very evangelistic about, and a Canon Rebel T1i, which is the camera that my great friend Julie, a professional photographer, recommended to me.  Would our readers like to sway me in one direction or the other? 🙂 I already have my eye on a lens that it seems like almost EVERY professional food blogger uses too.  🙂 (Not that I’m a professional by any means!)

Ok, enough chitter chatter…it’s time for  a recipe which is what you really came here for!  All right…since you waited so patiently!  These are MY favorite enchiladas.  My momma used to make these when I was growing up, and I am so glad to share them with you now!

Sour Cream Chicken Enchiladas (from Mom!)

Ingredients:

10-12 flour tortillas

2 C. grated jack cheese (or other white cheese)

3/4 C. chopped onion (optional)

1/4 C. butter

3 TBS. flour

2 C. chicken broth

1 C. sour cream

2 C. diced chicken

1 can chopped mild green chilies OR some sliced red/green chili peppers (We can’t get the cans in Russia, but I often have people bring them to me if they are coming to visit!) 🙂  Either way, its just to give it a little spice!

Place 2 TBS. cheese and 1 TBS. onion in each tortilla and roll up.  Place seam side down in a 9×13 baking dish.

Melt butter in skillet and blend in flour.  Add broth and cook until thick.  Stir in sour cream, chicken, and chilies.  Cook until heated.

Pour over tortillas, sprinkle with remaining cheese.  Bake at 350 degrees for 30 min.

I just realized I don’t have a final shot from these enchiladas!  I’ll put one up the next time I make them…but for now…you can just go make them yourself!  🙂

More recipes coming this week plus a reflection on why I love cooking so much!  See you in the kitchen! 🙂

Leave a Reply

