Wicked Blueberry Coffee Cake

I’ve been making this coffee cake for several years now.  My friend Barbara gave me the recipe once, and I just can’t get enough of it.  I remember, it was the first thing I ever baked when I moved back to Russia.  I made it for the STINT girls to welcome them to Moscow…only I used some sugar that my teammate Liz had at her house and it was some kind of “double sweet” sugar.  So you were only supposed to use half of what a recipe called for.  Anyhow, I think that kind of sugar is only supposed to be used in coffee or something.  I’m not sure what it would do to a recipe’s consistency if you didn’t use the same amount!  Anyway, I remember the stint girls saying it tasted kind of funny, but they ate it anyway!  Haha!  Never fear, I doubt you have double sweet sugar where you live, so you’re probably safe!  And you know what? I’ve never seen that kind of sugar ever again since that day.  Crazy!

This is my favorite coffee cake!  I am willing to bet it soon will be one of yours too!

Wicked Blueberry Coffee Cake from Austin-American Statesman

Ingredients:

  • 1/2 C. butter
  • 1 C. sugar
  • 3 eggs, slightly beaten
  • 1/2 tsp. vanilla
  • 1 tsp. baking soda
  • 1 tsp. baking powder
  • 1/4 tsp. salt
  • 2 C. flour
  • 1 C. sour cream
  • 2 C. blueberries (+ 3 TBS. flour if using frozen)

For topping:

  • 1 C. brown sugar
  • 1/4 C. butter
  • 1/4 C. flour

Cream butter and sugar together.  Add eggs, vanilla, baking powder, baking soda, and salt.  Add flour and sour cream alternately to egg mixture, mixing after each addition.  Combine 3 TBS. flour with frozen blueberries (or omit if using fresh) to coat the berries with the flour.  This keeps the berries from running all over the batter.  Fold in the blueberries.  Pour mixture into a greased 13 x 9 pan.

In a separate bowl, cream brown sugar and remaining 1/4 C. butter.  Add flour to get a semi-dry mixture.  Sprinkle evenly on top of batter.  Bake at 350 for 30 minutes.  Test for doneness.

Do you have your fork ready?  I have mine! 🙂

3 thoughts on “Wicked Blueberry Coffee Cake

  1. Pingback: Top Recipes of 2010 « Cooking Devushki

Leave a Reply

