Sausage Balls

I used to love to make these with my mom for holiday occasions.  My recipe card that my mom wrote out for me says this recipe came from my Great Aunt Lois.  But…I’m pretty sure that this recipe is on the side of every box of Bisquick around the holiday season.  ANYWAY…it’s still great, and here I’ve included tips for actually making it from scratch.  I can’t get Bisquick in Russia…or ground sausage for that matter.  So the sausage balls generally take me a bit longer to make than the old standby that me and mom used to make…but it’s worth it in the end!

Sausage Balls from my Great Aunt Lois (kind of)

Ingredients

  • 2 to 2 1/2 C. homemade bisquick mix (you kind of have to feel it out for consistency)
  • 1 lb. (454 g) ground sausage.  Go here to find an easy recipe for making your own…basically just adding herbs and spices to ground pork.  I like the 1st 2 recipes especially.
  • 12 oz. (340 g) grated cheddar cheese (don’t buy pre-grated)

Before you start, prepare the baking mix in one bowl, and the ground pork (sausage) in another.  You can store leftover baking mix in a ziplock bag or air-tight container.

Mix all ingredients together.  Shape mixture into 1-inch balls.  Bake on a baking sheet at 375 degrees until brown (15-30 minutes.)

One thought on “Sausage Balls

  1. Hi,

    Great blog. Good to have found it.

    When I moved away from England I missed sausages mre than I missed my family! I started making them myself here in Greece. before long I was supplying loads of people with them each week.

    I wrote a quick and easy guide so people could find out my recipies and how to make sausages for themselves. It is free at http://www.sausages-sausages.com

    Barry

Leave a Reply

